St. Mark's Episcopal Church
1908 Central Ave. in Cheyenne (307) 634-7709

The first resident rector, the Reverend Joseph W. Cook, arrived in Cheyenne January 14, 1868 and when the congregation outgrew the first building the plans for the present structure were started. The design was for a stone building in old English style, with pointed arches, massive buttresses and plain finishing. Construction was begun in the summer of 1886. The structure also contains a number of stunning stained glass windows, including a Tiffany. In 1988, a century after the original dedication, the cornerstone was opened up and the contents are on display at St. Mark’s today.
Copyright © 2011 New Times Media Corporation - All Rights Reserved